Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol puts lives at risk. Drunk driving can lead to serious collisions that result in significant injuries and death. Read on to learn about the specific consequences of intoxicated driving in Arizona.
In Arizona, there are strict laws regarding drunk driving. Someone caught driving while impaired could face harsh sentences such as time in prison or heavy fines. Drivers may also have to use ignition interlock devices (IIDs), which test them for alcohol use before driving their vehicles. If you or a loved one is in need of alcohol abuse help, reach out to Viewpoint Dual Recovery Center.
What Are the Penalties for Driving While Intoxicated in Arizona?
Anyone with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher is driving while intoxicated and breaking the law in Arizona. The .08% limit is known as the “per se” limit because an officer can arrest a driver under the assumption that they are too impaired to drive if they blow this percentage on a Breathalyzer test.
DUIs come with different penalties depending on how high a person’s BAC is and how many offenses they have on their record.
For a first-offense DUI, a driver can be jailed for up to 10 days and fined up to $1,250. They may have to go through addiction treatment, educational programs, and alcohol screening. They will also have to use a certified ignition interlock device in their vehicle, which takes a breath sample before they drive and sometimes during the drive. Drivers who have committed a first-offense DUI crime can also expect to spend at least some of their time performing community service.
Second offenses are more serious. For a second offense and all offenses after that, a driver will be imprisoned for 90 days or longer. They will also face a fine of up to $3,000 and have their license revoked for a year (12 months). Like with a first-offense DUI, drivers have to seek treatment, education, and a screening. They also have to use an ignition interlock device and complete community service hours.
Aggravated DUI Penalties
Another kind of DUI is the aggravated DUI. This form applies to anyone who gets a DUI while they already have a revoked, suspended or canceled license. It also applies to those who commit three DUIs in 84 months or drives drunk with a minor aged 15 or younger in the vehicle. They may also be charged with this if they won’t give a breath sample while using an IID.
Aggravated DUIs come with penalties, including up to two years in prison and a license revocation of a year. Alcohol education, screening, and treatment are also required, as are the IID and community service.
What Is a Certified Ignition Interlock Device?
If a driver is convicted of driving while intoxicated or under the influence, they will have to use a certified ignition interlock device. This device tests their breath for alcohol before they can turn on their vehicle. The driver also has to blow into the device at different times while they’re driving. If they fail, the vehicle won’t shut off, but it does record the failure. Then, the driver has to pull over and retest in five minutes. The vehicle won’t restart again after the driver pulls over until they pass the test.
Learn More About Treating Alcoholism and Avoiding Drunk Driving Charges at Viewpoint Dual Recovery Center
At Viewpoint Dual Recovery Center, we are focused on helping people move past addictions and into a life of sobriety. We can help you overcome challenges with substance abuse, alcoholism, and more. Whether you or a loved one needs support, we’re here to help. Call our team today at 855.746.3633 to learn more about our services.